Seven

ASLWe play several games in ASL class, and Buzz 7 is the one we play the most often.  For the record, I hate this game a little bit because I’m terrible at math.  I’m inevitably the first person to go out in my group.  It’s a lot of fun to watch everyone else play though, and get all flustered and silly when they accidentally sign a 7.   I’m sure I could like it a lot more if I could get over being a poor sport.  🙂  Here are the rules:

Everyone stands in a circle and signs numbers in order.  The first person would sign 1, the second 2, the third 3 and so on.  The catch is that 7s are deadly poison and buzz you out of the circle.  So if the 7th person signed 7, they’d be out, as well as anyone signing 17, 27, 37, etc…  In fact, 7s are so poisonous that they also infect multiplesof 7 in addition to numbers with 7s in them, so anyone signing 14, 21, 28, 35 etc… would also be out.   if it’s your turn, and the number you would be signing is a poison number, you should just skip it and go onto the next one.  So the 6th person in the circle would sign 6 and the 7th person would sign 8.  The first person to accidentally sign a 7 or a multiple of 7 is out, and the game starts over with the remaining players until only one math whiz is left standing.   Anyone who hesitates on their turn is also out.   Be brutal, it’s more fun that way.

Not only is this game a good time for us, and a great break from intense class, it’s also a great way to learn our numbers better.  I know I’ve gotten a lot faster at signing them since I started playing Buzz 7.  Enjoy.

