scan

ASLSo far, I haven’t been living up to my expectations for the summer.  Work got a little crazy.  Ok, work got a lot crazy and I’ve been running my little bum off at all hours of the day and night.  When I come home at the end of the evening, I don’t want to look at where the Deaf Events are taking place, I just want to sleep.  I realized the other day that I hadn’t had a conversation with anyone in sign in more than a month.

At the same time, I’m only beginning to realize how ASL has been marinating in my consciousness.  I work in costuming, and I looked at my notes last night to realize that I had written “fairy shoes where?” so I could remember to find them, a distinctly ASL pattern of speech.  I briefly waved an “R” handshape at one of the costuming crew when I wanted to ask if she was ready to leave from across the room, before realizing that she couldn’t understand me and feeling slightly foolish.  I touched my middle finger to my forehead and rolled my eyes when a co-worker made a horribly bad pun.  Sometimes I visit my husband  at work and we have lunch together.  It’s not unusual to see me with a sandwich in one hand, signing with the other and a mouth full of food, trying to answer a question I was just asked.  ASL makes the rule “It’s not polite to talk with your mouth full” pretty much a moot point, and I love that.  Of course he doesn’t speak ASL, so I’m always repeating myself, but I can’t seem to help it.  Luckily he’s usually amused with me, not annoyed. 

The one thing I have been doing is reading a lot about Deaf Culture.  I’ve finished 2 1/2 books so far, and I have another 1 1/2 waiting for me on my bedside table in all their hard backed library glory.  I may not be signing, but I’m certainly still learning.  I started looking up Deaf Events again today, and I know I’m ready to return to the world of boisterous quiet just as soon as I find something that I don’t have to drive more than an hour to attend.  I’m looking forward to getting back out there soon.

