Book 2

ASLYay!! My computer is fixed now, and I have internet access and everything!!  I thought I would use this exciting opportunity to review some of the books I just finished reading, so here they are.  It’s so nice to be able to post things when I want to…

The Wild Boy of Aveyron by Harlan Lane “A-” – The subject of feral children has always interested me, and Harlan Lane’s account of Victor is fascinating.  Lane also explores the life of Victor’s teacher, Jean Marc Gaspard Itard, and the lasting legacy he left in the study of language acquisition and learning in general.  The only drawback: I was left wondering what really happened to Victor when he grew up.  Lane only mentions it very (very) briefly. 

A Mighty Change: An Anthology of Deaf American Writing 1814-1864 edited by Christopher Krentz “B” – Although it’s sometimes sad to read the things the deaf people included in this book write about their “unfortunate condition”, there is an unmistakeable veign of early Deaf Pride running through the work as well.  The diary entries of Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet were my favorite works included, but everything in here is great and gives a really interesting picture of what life for Deaf people was like before Oralism swept the nation.

