ast year when it was so hard to get classes, my husband cheered me up with Randy Pausch’s “Last Lecture” (for a transcript, go here: http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/TenWays/story?id=3675954&page=1 ).  Evidently, it is a tradition that college professors who know they will be dying give a last lecture on what matters most to them.  Randy’s was amazingly inspirational and has garnered him a bit of fame.  In it, he explains that obstacles are there for a reason: they let you prove how much you want things.

I must really want to be an ASL interpreter.  I went through another horrible week of being turned away at every class.  The worst part is, I didn’t get the class that’s the prerequisite to everything else.  If everything goes well in the future, it will now take me double the time I thought it would to graduate with an ASL degree.

I do have a backup plan.  I need a BA anyway, so I’ll transfer and go to a “real” school while I’m finishing up my AA in sign.  I just feel so defeated right now.  I’m at a school I hate, fighting an uphill battle, for absolutely no gain.  I am so tired of loosing the fight against the California State budget cuts.

I’ll cheer up in a little bit, I promise.  I’m not giving up.  After all, if I work hard enough this year my ASL should be AMAZING by the time I get into those interpreting classes.  It will make my journey easier in the long run, right?  Hopefully? Maybe?…

