chool has already been in session for two weeks, but I didn’t get a chance to say anything about it because of my break.  I think hell might have frozen over, because I was able to register for all of my classes with no problems at all.  I have 12 units right now, and I didn’t have to fight tooth and nail for a single one!  That’s progress!

It’s funny to me how semesters seem to divvy themselves up into themes.  I’m taking American Sign Language / English translation, Critical Thinking, American Sign Language Structure, and Psychology.  You wouldn’t think that all those classes would be about communication, but they all are.  It’s strange to me how many of those classes have been helping me to understand the English language better.  As my teacher says, you can’t learn about adverbs in sign if you don’t know what an adverb is in English first.  As excited as I am to be learning more about English,  I’m overjoyed about learning some concrete rules for sign.  I feel like I really need that.

With the new semester starting again, I think the thing I’m most excited about is going back to the world of the living.  I’m not chained to my job anymore!  That means I can get out into the community, visit some really fun Deaf events, and use more ASL.  Right now I have plans to usher for Deaf West, and also help out at their booth during DEAFestival Los Angeles.  I’m really excited to see everyone again!!  Hopefully I’ll also be able to attend other events, but it’s crazy to me how fast my time is filling up now that I’m free.

Here’s to my last year at Mt. SAC, and to lots of hand-flapping fun along the way!!

